Jul. 18, 2002 - 2:50 p.m.
Drugs are always the answer...

Ok I found something interesting...

Beta-blockers. Now this is pretty extreme. I haven't researched the drug yet, I'm going to the Doctor's next week to talk about it. But it seems that beta blockers prevent the heart from reacting to adrenalin and epinepherine etc, and is given on a regular basis to people with high blood pressure or heart disease. It seems from what I've been reading that you can get it in a super low dosage, and after discussing with your physician you can agree on how much to take and how soon before a performance or audition. I'll find out more and update you.

I also read that BANANA'S are a natural beta blocker. I don't know how much is in a banana or how many you would have to eat to get an effective result, but I will test this out too. I'll have a banana before acting class on Sunday and see how I go.

I would do anything to relieve this ridiculous fear, and it seems to be beyond mental for me now because I know I'm not in danger, I don't go into an audition assigning serious importance to it (I do that AFTER I've blown the audition!!) I breathe, I do all those things. I just have to allow myself to take up space and as it was with depression, I needed a little chemical help to show me the way, and I was able to go there on my own after a little while. Or I can just eat 10 bananas a day, either way.

I'll at least talk to my GP about it and see what she thinks, and who knows, maybe that's the one thing standing between myself and greatness!

YAY beta blockers and bananas.

old bitching - random - new bitching

Reads Like:

Sounds Like:

Feels Like:


0 fussbugets said...



Site Meter