Jul. 22, 2002 - 10:04 a.m.
24 hour madhouse

Wow, the air conditioning in this office has just stopped blowing. It hasn't stopped blowing for mmmmm, probably MONTHS, and now the click of my typewriter seems incredibly LOUD.

So this weekend was the 24 hour film contest. WHAT A BLAST. I was up super early on Saturday morning because I thought I had to be at the Cafe at around 8:30 or so. But then I re-read the email that I more or less didn't read properly the first time and realized that I wouldn't really have to be there until after nine. So that was stupid. I mucked around and had a coffee slurpee thing from Blenz. Gave me the farts etc all day cause I don't drink coffee, but it got me up anyway.

So I arrived at the cafe and promptly sought Shauna, who was the director/writer buncha other stuff of the group I was in. We sat around and slowly the rest of our group trickled in. There was Quinn, Shauna's brother (although I am taken and he is married with children, WOW, he was quite a captivating fellow...that's all I'll say) who played the main character. Then Greg, who is a talented writer (wrote a novel, is writing more) and did the camera work. Then Rich, who is Shauna's boyfriend and Ty(editing) who's name is actually something a LOT longer with a lot of letters that aren't T and Y, and Dan, who played the nasty boss in the film (musician). That makes 7 of us.

We headed to Shauna and Rich's house and talked out what we wanted to do. We spent most of the day filming and mucking around and they didn't get to the editing until about midnight. I got to go home and sleep YAY! All in all, the film was ok, I knew what was going on because I knew the story, but I think that the little film lost a lot in the editing and it was a little difficult to figure out what was going on in the film. So I don't think we won, but YOU BE THE JUDGE! haha.

I think that sometime this week all the films will be available on the site to watch. I'll post the link here when they are.

It was hard for me to watch this film though. I spend the better part of the film in a tight, rather revealing top, and it was difficult to watch myself in something so unflattering in front of a room full of my peers, who also saw me in something unflattering. It was really hard on my self esteem, but I was able to sit through it and concentrate on the story, rather than my fatty arms and wide body. I'm getting over myself YAY.

I had a pretty good class last night too. I think I was able to get fairly grounded and enjoyed my scene to a point. I was making some breakthroughs and then I panic and become conscious of myself again, instead of being lost in the character like I should be...I'm getting there though. Whee. I wonder what level she thinks I'm at? I often wonder if she thinks I'm hopeless or that I'll never make it as an actor. I think I've asked this question before. She being Shea, my teacher.

Hopefully one day I'll get other comments instead of "you can do the work" and "you have a good understanding of the work". AUGH. I have to stop needing praise.

old bitching - random - new bitching

Reads Like:

Sounds Like:

Feels Like:


0 fussbugets said...



Site Meter