Jul. 06, 2003 - 7:47 a.m.
28 Days Later

I saw a VERY scary movie last night.

28 Days Later.

Fuck man, I'm getting old because I could BARELY watch it. I had my sweater up over my eyes most of the time. At least I didn't poke myself in the eye this time, like I did at "The Ring".

Anyway, the story is, these activists break into a primate research facility to release the animals and they find this poor creature hooked up to a bunch of electrodes and tied down on a table being forced to watch about 6 different televisions displaying HORRIBLE and very graphic violent scenes, that were taken obviously from real life footage. Awful. They run into a doctor who says no, don't release them they're infected, don't don't, they're infected with Rage. But they release one that instantly attacks one of the activists and she is bitten before they kill the chimp. She then begins to barf gouts of blood and scream and roar. Thus begins the film.

Jim wakes up alone in a hospital and soon discovers that he seems to be the only person left alive in London. Goes from there.

It's gory, it's graphic, it's BEAUTIFULLY shot. There are some great camera angles and composition in this film, they go for the odd and off kilter which is a technique to make the viewer feel off kilter and uncomfortable, and man, is it ever effective in this film. The acting is great, as it's a British film. There wasn't ONE actor that I was like "what is that??" They were all spot on.

They used all kinds of 'horror film techniques' to achieve the fear and stress I went through, like speeding up movement and quick shots and tight editing.

Anyway. I'm old, I'm a chicken now and Karin, the girl I was with, got startled and threw her popcorn.

Of course, I dreamt about the film, but this time it wasn't really a nightmare, I didn't wake up scared. This is a good thing. I think I psyched myself enough "it was only a movie" that I was ok. I read before i fell asleep and I had most of the lights on. hee.

I tend to freak myself out. I see something scary and then I dwell on it and imagine it and then every sound I hear and every thing I see in the shadows is that scary thing. It's ridiculous. So last night I vowed to not freak out and have nightmares. And I did it!!!

I don't know man, Zombies freak me out.

Ok. Off to run. Damn I'm up early.

old bitching - random - new bitching

Reads Like:

Sounds Like:
Ween - Push the Little Daisies
Feels Like:
zombies!!!

0 fussbugets said...



Site Meter