Apr. 03, 2003 - 9:27 a.m.
Are you religious? Spiritual?

I was asked if I was religious or spiritual in any way, and I started to answer and then wrote this big long bad boy, so instead, thought I'd make it a diary entry.

"I have a set of my own beliefs strung together with various experiences. I also believe two things are possible. Here goes: There is no 'god' in the Christian or Muslim sense. There is a certain energy, a force, if you will (a la Star Wars) binding everything together. Everything cycles and is circular, everything revolves in some manner, from galaxies (or bigger?) down to the tiny parts of atoms that nobody's seen but we assume are there. Something's gotta keep that going. It's just not a dude in the sky with a beard. Whatever it is, I don't think it's sentient. Anyway, I like to believe this, I like to believe that there is some kind of rhyme or reason to the chaos, organized chaos, because, and I believe this is how the theory goes, if you step far enough back from the chaos, you will see order. Blah blah. Anyway. One of two things, in my opinion, happens when we die. We are energy, and energy cannot be created or destroyed, so we have to go somewhere, hence, reincarnation. Into what, I don't know, into where, who the hell knows that either. I believe in karma, that what you put out there comes back, in keeping with the theme of circularity (is that a word?).

Either that, or we are just meat, and when we die, we rot and it's over.

I do not believe in the Christian fast food mentality that if you just believe in Christ, you will go to heaven, no matter what you do in life. Because that seems to be the story. You can be an asshole but as long as you believe Christ died for your sins, you will be saved. If you spend your life doing good works, taking care of people, giving selflessly, but you don't believe in Christ, you are going to rot in hell, clasping burning pillars for all eternity. I don't buy that. That doesn't make any sense, it's not logical, it's not in keeping with the circular theme that the rest of the universe seems to follow.

I believe there was a guy named Jesus, and I believe that he had his shit down, he knew what was going on, and I think that he would be appalled and saddened by what has become of his teachings. I think he would have appreciated the good works and kind gestures of people, and if he actually had any say in what happens to people after they die, he would bring along all those nice people because they were nice people. Not because they believed in him. That's narcissistic, and if Jesus wanted sycophants, he would have been an agent. Gaw.

This is rambling. I just think we as a human race pervert everything we create, including religion, money, politics, love, children. We are born to destroy, and destroy we will, until we destroy ourselves. It's sad."

old bitching - random - new bitching

Reads Like:

Sounds Like:
the fax machine
Feels Like:
it's time for breakfast

1 fussbugets said...



Site Meter