Jun. 06, 2003 - 10:12 a.m.
My Birthday weeeeeeeek

Wheeee it's almost my birthday. I think no matter how old I get I am going to be stoked it's my birthday.

I'll be 27. It's the one day a year when everyone HAS to pay attention to me!! hahaha.

Actually, it's my birthday week and a half, really. I intend to milk the fucker for all it's worth!

I just had a super sudden change of moment there whoa.

I was thinking about tonight, the lawyer and I are going to watch movies and paint gaming figures and one of the movies is the extended version of Lord of the Rings with the extra scenes which I have not seen yet. And then I remembered the one part of that film that moved me to tears and always does and it's not even really the film that does it.

It's a boy's voice.

In the scene where they're escaping Khazad Duum (sp?) or Moria, and Gandalf is battling the Balrog (fucking great scene, great interpretation of a fictonal creature, in my opinion) and he falls, and we presume, will die. The crashing music stops and there is a deep hum in the undertones and the motion slows speed, you don't hear much sound, they are screaming and fighting to go back to him but they are being converged upon by thousands of goblins and orcs and they have to leave.

But the music. The sound. The humming and then this voice. This boys voice pierces the quiet with the most pure and perfect note. He must be about 11.

That sound to me is one of the most beautiful sounds that exists. A little boy, with perfect quality of voice, supressing vibrato, singing soprano, and holding a note that vibrates my entire body. I get goosebumps. They race around my body and a chill follows and I can't help but shiver. I have to shut my eyes and open my mouth to receive this sound. And tears spring to my eyes completely involuntarily. I can't breathe until it's over.

It actually, physically saturates me, permeates me, like I can feel it in every cell.

Amazing.

Anyway, it's a great film, one of my favourite stories ever, and the one scene that really gets me is that one. And when the sound finishes and I'm released, I cry like a fucking baby.

It rocks!

Anyway, back to me. MY BIRTHDAY. Send me money. And massages and hugs and kisses and a car. I like Volkswagen Golfs. Old minis are cool if you got one you wanna unload. Oh, and I need an ice cream maker. How about a pedicure?

old bitching - random - new bitching

Reads Like:

Sounds Like:

Feels Like:


0 fussbugets said...



Site Meter