Oct. 23, 2002 - 9:20 a.m.
Bowling for Columbine

Hey Hey Hey.

So again, last night, I was mildly stood up. Granted, we didn't have solid definite plans, but there were messages left and things. AUGH. I won't hold it against him, as it was not a definite plan, but gee it sucked. At least I got out of paying cover. Somehow they missed me. SCORE.

I'm leaving work early today to go to a photoshop seminar. I don't really know how to use it other than the basic stuff and mucking around with photos of my little brother, but it's an opportunity to get out of work early. I have to work the opening of "The Weir" tonight, then I'm seeing "The Ring", which I will let you all know about too.

I also recently saw "Bowling for Columbine" which is something I think EVERY American should see. I wonder what it will take for them to see the dire situation they are in, in terms of violence and self-destruction. Michael Moore raises some INCREDIBLE points, makes Charlton Heston look like the idiot he is (and this is pre-alzheimers), gives Marilyn Manson the opportunity to show what a truly eloquent and grounded person he is (MMoore-"If you had the chance, what would you say to today's youth" [paraphrasing here] MManson - "I wouldn't say anything to them. I would listen".....I rest my case). It's full of funny, yet disturbing scenes, some footage that is heart stoppingly horrifying and makes you feel totally helpless and defeated. There were security video scenes from Columbine High School that I had never seen before. I felt sick. I was utterly riveted to the screen for the entire duration, and I wondered to myself how the American public would take seeing itself wide open and bare like this.

It also painted a pretty good picture of Canadians, which I like to see, and there's an excellent animated bit about the History of America created by Matt Stone and Trey Parker.

Anyway, enough with the spoilers, go see the film, you won't be disappointed.

old bitching - random - new bitching

Reads Like:

Sounds Like:

Feels Like:


0 fussbugets said...



Site Meter