May. 15, 2003 - 9:43 a.m.
Casual? NOPE!

Ok so relationship update for those who care.

Talked with the lawyer last night for about an hour. Just blathering. I was asking his opinion on threesomes etc. We both kinda decided that we weren't interested in seeing each other being touched by other people. He hated the idea of someone else's 'zack' in me. The thought of him eating out some girl made my skin crawl.

He said, "yeah, if it were just some casual girlfriend then I would probably not mind a threesome".

So. I am not a casual girfriend. He then qualified it like a typical 21 year old guy "it's not like we're married or anything...(snort)". Aww too much sap for him at one time. haha. I was satisfied with the admission that he is serious about me.

We were discussing the notion that men think/speak directly and women think/speak indirectly. This came from a textbook from his philosophy of language class.

He read me a little exerpt from the introduction talking about the indirect/direct thing. The writer used his wife as an example (which I'm sure she LOOOOOOOOVED). He gave an example of his coming home from work and asking "What time is dinner?" meaning, at what time will dinner be ready so that I don't make other plans, because I would like to be there on time. And she would take it as a slight, that he meant dinner was taking too long and could she hurry up. So of course she was mad at him. He had to start qualifying/modifying what he said by saying "purely interrogative: What time is dinner?"

Another example: she was sitting in the living room and he was heading for the kitchen. She asked him "do you want some tea?" He said yes please. But what she really meant was that she wanted tea, and wanted him to make it. So he got in trouble.

This is extreme, of course. I don't do this, and I know lots of other women who don't behave like that. That's ridiculous. But it is true that we take fairly straight forward comments or questions and twist them around to our thinking, forgetting that men don't think like us and therefore don't really have many hidden meanings.

Anyway, it seemed a bit mysogenistic, and I think I spelled that wrong, but he's got a point. As much as I know women who aren't that ridiculous, I know some who are, and it irritates me to NO END!

Anyway, what do you guys think on that subject?

I'm going to go fantasize about my no-longer-casual boyfriend. Lucky me!

old bitching - random - new bitching

Reads Like:

Sounds Like:

Feels Like:


1 fussbugets said...



Site Meter