Jun. 07, 2004 - 4:13 p.m.
Crappy Poetry. Get your shit scooper ready

I wish I could write poetry. I'm not good at it at all. I don't write well within constraints. I have enough difficulty with punctuation.

I've tried, and sometimes I get lucky, but it's never exceptional, just average. Maybe slightly above because I have a way with words. But usually, the images are undeveloped, the flow is awful. I can't rhyme worth shit. I wrote some today, and I hate it but I'll put it in here. It's totally first draft, and it hasn't been edited yet. I'll edit it later. But here is the first piece of crap. I wonder if I'll get better at the poetry once I'm in school?

If you could see the look on my face.
If what I feel could write itself with my own hand
And draw itself out to lessen the space between
My heart and your eyes then you would see
What I see. What I saw.

I saw potential greater than that of all the children on this earth.
I saw connection stronger than roots to the ground.
I see your back to me facing a sun that shines brighter for your eyes
While I am only the moon, a satellite: cold, rocky, and bleak.

But in my core is fire and molten stone.
In my heart lies strength and heat and they move
faster and more powerfully than any other substance known to me, or you, or anyone else.
This core is bright, brighter than your sun, if only you�d dug a little deeper.

And long after your sun has expanded beyond you,
Long after she has grown past you and become so full
She implodes leaving a cold empty pool from which not even light can escape, nor you,
I will still be here to light you from within me, a constant steady glow, a heat, a fire.

If you could only see my face.
The face that tilts towards you always, away from the sun, away from the rest.
The face of stony steadfastness, of determination and inevitability.
I am here; I will always be here, as I have always been.
If you could only see my face.

old bitching - random - new bitching

Reads Like:
my crappy poetry
Sounds Like:
Lodestar - Sarah Harmer
Feels Like:
my writing, sigh, it's crap, but it's getting there I guess

0 fussbugets said...



Site Meter