Oct. 08, 2003 - 10:01 a.m.
Ripped off by the eggs...

I have a major beef with restaurants that serve breakfast. They try to gouge you at every fucking turn.

Twice now, I've been to a restaurant that's ripped me off as best they can. One, I ordered an omelette, with no toast and no hashbrowns or anything. They wanted to charge me the same amount anyway, so I said, ok, can I have some fruit instead? They said no, that would be $2.95 extra.

So, I said, you won't take money off for something I'm not having, but you will take MORE money for something to replace it? They said yes. So I said, fuck it, I don't want anything extra just what I ordered, which was an omelette with cheese on top. So then the food comes, and there was no fucking cheese on top, so I said, I ordered cheese.

He had the FUCKING NERVE TO SAY:

"no, you didn't".

Not, sorry ma'am, we'll get some cheese for you, or OH, I must not have heard you, or oh, I thought you changed your mind.

No. You didn't.

I was so fucking mad at this point. I'll get comments for this one, but Asian business practices are NOT FUCKING COOL. It happens so much in this city with businesses trying to get as much out of you as they can, and really, I just want to be charged for what I eat. Three eggs, and some cheese and some veggies in the fucking omelette.

Again this morning, I went to Harry's Diner and asked for bacon, two poached eggs and some hollandaise sauce. NO TOAST, NO HASHBROWNS. As she was packing my order, I noticed her adding hashbrowns. So I said, no hashbrowns or toast or anything, thanks.

So she said "oh oh oh" and took them out. So then I received my order, which had two poached eggs, hollandaise sauce in a tub and TOAST. No bacon. I was like, what the fuck??? AND THEN, he tried to charge me fucking 6.50 for it. I was like, dude, the bacon is 2.25, I know this, I've ordered JUST bacon from you before. Why is it FOUR dollars for two eggs and some sauce? Especially when eggs at Safeway are less than $4 for TWELVE. And you get them wholesale. I was mad. He wanted to charge me for an eggs benedict which is 6.95. I'm like, that would be with an english muffin and ham and hash browns and shit on the side. Not two eggs, three pieces of bacon and some sauce.

I hate this. If I could poach my own eggs at work here, I would. GRRR.

What is with business? It's not about ripping people off because you can. It's about offering a service and making money to support yourself. But if you rip people off, they won't come to you anymore, and hence, you won't make any money to support yourself. BUT the problem is, there will always be someone to come in and buy something, or will pay the exorbitant amount just because of the convenience, and, well, just because.

It sucks.

old bitching - random - new bitching

Reads Like:

Sounds Like:

Feels Like:


1 fussbugets said...



Site Meter