Apr. 09, 2003 - 8:51 a.m.
Easier Over the Net?

Alright, I'm at work now, so I'll answer the question:

"Why is it so incredibly easy to talk to, and even bare your soul to someone online?"

Augh, it's a tough question, and quite the undertaking to answer it, especially after 5 hours sleep. (Cowboy Bebop was GREAT!!!!) I think when you aren't looking people in the face, it's easier to say things. Throughout history, the "dear john" letters and breaking up over the phone and those sorts of things, have always been the easy way out because you don't have to face them. Same thing applies I think here. You aren't facing the person, so it's easier to say things that are more personal, more deviant etc etc. Also, when you type, or write emails, you have the opportunity to think about what you want to say, erase things you've said before saying them. In a sense you can edit yourself in such a manner that you can either fudge the truth, or better put into words what you really want to say. It's hard enough to express yourself thinking on the fly sometimes. Your brain fucks up, your mouth fucks up, you say dumb shit, you say stuff you don't mean. When you are typing your words, even in chat, you have an opportunity to review them before you send.

The drawback is that it's easier to censor yourself. Your reactions might not be honest in the moment reactions, you can alter them before they set forth into the un-take-back-able.

Enh...

I think I want to stop meeting people through the net. It has never ended up well, friends or lovers or what have you. I think I'll keep my net life and my in person life separate for peace of mind. Of course, things change and you can never say never...

Next entry, I'll answer the Sex in the Suburbs question.

old bitching - random - new bitching

Reads Like:

Sounds Like:
damn silence again. The air blowers in the office
Feels Like:
Bagels.

1 fussbugets said...



Site Meter