Feb. 28, 2003 - 4:11 p.m.
Friday Five - Still 38 Days

1. What is your favorite type of literature to read (magazine, newspaper, novels, nonfiction, poetry, etc.)?
I prefer fiction, novels and things. lately I've been into the classics, Dickens. I've been reading the Black Cauldron series of books because they're fun, childish and full of imagination. It's funny reading them when you're older because now I see all kinds of paralells and stolen ideas from Lord of the Rings. A lot of the same devices... I also bought the complete works of Edgar Allan Poe, of which I've only read a few. Shame. He's excellent, I never get sick of him.

2. What is your favorite novel?
MAN, that's hard! I don't have a favourite. I guess Lord of the Rings, because over the years it's the one I've read the most. I really liked American Psycho, I've read that several times. 158 Pound Marriage by John Irving was excellent, I really enjoyed that one. AUGH, I can't decide this sort of thing!?!?!?!?

3. Do you have a favorite poem? (Share it!)
Excerpts from: Walt Whitman (1819�1892 "Proud Music of The Storm"
PROUD music of the storm!
Blast that careers so free, whistling across the prairies!
Strong hum of forest tree-tops! Wind of the mountains!
Personified dim shapes! you hidden orchestras!
You serenades of phantoms, with instruments alert
Blending, with Nature�s rhythmus, all the tongues of nations;
You chords left us by vast composers! you choruses!
You formless, free, religious dances! you from the Orient!
You undertone of rivers, roar of pouring cataracts;
You sounds from distant guns, with galloping cavalry!
Echoes of camps, with all the different bugle-calls!
Trooping tumultuous, filling the midnight late, bending me powerless,
Entering my lonesome slumber-chamber�Why have you seiz�d me?

Come forward, O my Soul, and let the rest retire;
Listen�lose not�it is toward thee they tend;
Parting the midnight, entering my slumber-chamber,
For thee they sing and dance, O Soul.

Ah, from a little child,
Thou knowest, Soul, how to me all sounds became music;
My mother�s voice, in lullaby or hymn;
(The voice�O tender voices�memory�s loving voices!
Last miracle of all�O dearest mother�s, sister�s, voices;)
The rain, the growing corn, the breeze among the long-leav�d corn,
The measur�d sea-surf, beating on the sand,
The twittering bird, the hawk�s sharp scream,
The wild-fowl�s notes at night, as flying low,
migrating north or south,
The psalm in the country church, or mid the clustering trees,
the open air camp-meeting,
The fiddler in the tavern�the glee, the long-strung sailor-song,
The lowing cattle, bleating sheep�the crowing cock at dawn.

Give me to hold all sounds, (I, madly struggling, cry,)
Fill me with all the voices of the universe,
Endow me with their throbbings�Nature�s also,
The tempests, waters, winds�operas and chants�marches and dances,
Utter�pour in�for I would take them all. (this is not the whole poem, these are just my favourite parts because it's REALLY long)

4. What is one thing you've always wanted to read, or wish you had more time to read?The Iliad and the Odessy. I started the Iliad, and it takes a lot of work to decipher it on your own without notes, which I would like to do. I'd like to have some time to work on that. More poetry maybe?

5. What are you currently reading?
Aqua Erotica, which is a waterproof book (coool!) containing short erotic stories concerning water, The Black Cauldron Series by Lloyd Alexander, Cerebus the Aardvark, "Church and State" by Dave Sim (hee hee, my weakness), David Copperfield by Charles Dickes, and I'm about to start the complete works of Edgar Allan Poe. yeah, I'm a little book crazy.

old bitching - random - new bitching

Reads Like:
an albatross about my neck
Sounds Like:
Cranberries - Dreams
Feels Like:
it's fucking time to go home, but I still have half an hour.

1 fussbugets said...



Site Meter