Feb. 18, 2003 - 1:18 p.m.
This is like a grade ten essay or something.

Right.

So I said I would give an account of my personal opinion of Americans. I actually made a comment in johnnythm's guestbook about stupidity in the US, but that was prompted by the "special" person that called his place of work for assistance. Read it, you'll understand.

Anywhore...

I have spent a lot of time traveling and working in a tourist environment. I found that when I worked at a high end tourist destination, namely Whistler in British Columbia, I had the (mis)fortune of dealing with hordes of american tourists. They were rude, ignorant, brash, pushy, demanding, arrogant and utterly unamusing. They snapped their fingers at me when they wanted my attention. They looked at their change, quarters, which DO look the same and even, I believe, SAY 25 cents right on them, and ask "what is this? Is this a quarter?" or when I quoted them a price for something "is that in American dollars" or wanted me to give them american dollars in change. These are all things that, with a little TINY moment to stop and think, could have been worked out on their own.

This is basically what I find with the GENERAL american public. They don't stop to think for a moment before acting, or asking someone else to think for them because they are too lazy to. When I was a traveler and worked in hostels, they were the ones who had to have me do everything for them, figure out things for them, tell them where to go and how to get there and in a country that wasn't even my own!!! They were jovial and friendly but had a hard time seeing other cultures as anything but cute and quaint. (see the Amercian chick on Lonely Planet, GAWDS she was a spoiled whiny bitch!!)

NOW, having said all this, and probably pissing off a lot of people, I would now like to say a few nice things. I have met a lot of travelers who WEREN'T as described as above. They were genuinely interested in exploring the world outside of their home country. They wanted to get to know different people, involve themselves in things that were completely different than anything they'd ever seen at home. They were fun, liked good music, and were good email buddies.

I know several Americans that are funny people, loving and sensitive and think George Bush is fuckwad and realize that perhaps America is NOT the greatest country on earth. They see no difference between people of all races and cultures and they have no problem with non-aggressive behaviour. They are intelligent and worldy and know loads about Canada and the rest of the world and are fair minded and don't necesarily believe war is the only answer. I'll even go as far as to say that a lot of American men care about women more than the guys here in Vancouver who are a bunch of whiny cold fish who feel sorry for themselves all the time (there are 3 women to every man here so they can pick n choose pretty much). They place more importance on treating their partners well. (Again, this is NOT ALL AMERICANS, there are just as many assholes, but I find that a lot of american guys I've met or talked to are just way less cold fishy than Vancouver guys).

Also, if Canada were attacked, America would be the FIRST country to stand up and say, "Right, Fuck you, you don't fucking attack Canada. LOCK N LOAD, WERE COMIN FOR YOU, BITCHES!!" Not that war is the answer here, but it's the thought that counts..hehe.

Americans ARE in a position to be the greatest country on earth, it's very attainable for them, because they do have the freedom that is necessary to be that country, but they choose to pull the wool over their own eyes. They perpetuate inequality, poverty, poor education, self righteousness and lazy thinking. They refuse to take responsibility for themselves, they continue to cater to the lowest common denominator. If everyone focused inward a little more then maybe they could solve all the problems on the homefront.

Anyway, you get the idea.

So...bring on the hatemail kids!!

old bitching - random - new bitching

Reads Like:

Sounds Like:

Feels Like:


2 fussbugets said...



Site Meter