Jul. 12, 2003 - 4:47 p.m.
Out of Africa

OK I watched Out of Africa.

I could not take my eyes of Meryl Streep's face. She truly is stunning.

I can't say much for her Danish accent, as I am not familiar with that accent, but it seemed ok. There were moments when I was skeptical, but for the most part, I didn't notice it.

I was told before I watched this film that it was dry. I completely disagree!

I was enthralled. There were the prerequisite cheesy scenery shots, since it's set in Africa, Kenya to be more specific. It was definitely beautiful.

But the story was wonderful, the actors were fantastic. I was very impressed. It reminded me that there was a time when films that were considered blockbusters were actually quality films with a brilliant story and decent actors. When receiving an Oscar actually meant something.

True, Ms. Streep and Mr. Redford are both very good looking people, but not all the actors in the film were "hot" and Streep and Redford are also BRILLIANT and TALENTED, HARD WORKING actors.

The problem was, I had 2.5 hours to watch a 2.75 hour film. So I had to fast forward some parts so that I could see right to the end. It was sad in all the right places, adventurous in all the right places.

If you have a quiet night and nearly 3 hours to watch a movie and aren't already ruined by the quick cut blow stuff up era of films, then rent this one. It's reasons for winning Oscars are apparent.

old bitching - random - new bitching

Reads Like:

Sounds Like:
generic Opera
Feels Like:
can't I go home yet? damn, it's only 5. Two more hours.

0 fussbugets said...



Site Meter