Mar. 30, 2004 - 10:14 a.m.
The Soft Pink Wussies

On the bus this morning I got to thinking about a dumb subject, but the dumb subject was reached by thinking even dumber and almost downright mean things.

The bus was chockers full and there were a lot of standees, including me. I overheard a rather heavy woman in her 40s somewhere make a snide comment masked as a joke to a teenage boy who was sitting. She was standing. She basically was pissed that he didn't offer her the seat. The thought that crossed my head, and I'm not proud of it, was "lady your muscles could do with a little standing maybe" and I felt bad after thinking it, but really, being overweight is not a reason you get to sit down. Granted, the little brat should have given her the seat because he was 15, and would have less trouble standing on a moving bus than she did.

Anyway, then I thought about how humans like to sit down. And how I like to lounge and lie down. Then I thought about my cats, who lie around a helluva lot. Then I thought, I guess all animals like to lounge around all day. Then I backtracked and realized that NOT ALL animals lounge around. It seems only predators lounge around. Prey animals have to spend their time running about and keeping watch and getting their business done and such. Like you don't catch prairie dogs lounging in the sun under a tree. They're always busy busy, some are keeping an eye out, some are fucking around in the bushes or whatever, but they're not having a glorious nap on the plains.

Only things like lions and cougars can justifyably spend their time hanging out without a care because nothing is going to come and eat them while they're chillin.

So then the question is, are humans predators? I think situaionally, we are, since we have guns and various other things with which to kill stuff to eat.

But if you take away all our technology, are we still predators? And I mean ALL our technology. Like spears and things. I don't think we are, but here's where my "intellectualization" falls apart. We don't have claws, we don't have teeth with which to rip out the throats of little fuzzy creatures. We don't have the hearing or the sense of smell, or even the eyesight to hunt prey. So I guess, really, in simple terms, we're soft pink wussies just waiting to be eaten by the big meanies out there.

Only our sentience has saved us. But now we have no population control. So we're just going to keep multiplying until we drown in our own shit, like bacteria in an agar dish.

Heh.

old bitching - random - new bitching

Reads Like:

Sounds Like:

Feels Like:
we're infesting our planet

0 fussbugets said...



Site Meter