Aug. 13, 2003 - 11:35 a.m.
Question #4 - Are You Willing to Accept, Love and Nurture Your Whole Self - Independent of Weight Loss?

This is a tough one. Most of us don't want to accept ourselves, let alone love ourselves, when we don't like the way we look. Yet before we can lose weight permanently we must celebrate our whole self - beyond our thighs. What actually makes a person loveable? Is it just their body? Beyond the physical, what is attractive abut you? What do family, friends and co-workers like about you? Do you think your attitude towards your own body is loveable? Are you willing to change the way you see yourself?

This is indeed a toughie. Why don't I start by listing all the things I don't like and would like to change about myself. BUT, with a twist, I'm going to list a good thing about each of the bad things too. Then I'm going to list all of my physical features that I love, no holds barred, and maybe a few non-physical too.

my hair is too thin
my lips are not full enough
my shoulders are too broad
my upper arms are too fat
my breasts are too small
I have breast reduction scars
I hate my back fat
I hate my belly fat rolls
my hips are too wide
my upper thigh flab
the fat above my knees

my hair is very soft and shiny
they're like little dark pink flower petals
they're strong and defined
I know two guys who like to pinch them
I can button shirts and no back pain
see above
my spine doesn't stick out
my cats like to lie on my tummy
they give me an hourglass shape
good for having babies, I've heard
I don't have knobby knees


Things I love about myself:
So things I like about myself beyong the physical....I am a forgiving person, who seems unable to hold a grudge for more than 2 days, though I may grumble about it longer. I have loads of love to give, I'm very affectionate, and this reads like a personals ad!! I like the fact that people like to talk to me about things, they feel comfortable with me. I like that I'm intelligent, and seem capable of doing anything that I try to do, and sometimes even do it well! I like that I'm an emotional person, despite the troubles that seem to come with it. I like being able to feel without hinderance. I like my propensity for words and language. I like my desire to know a little about everything, just for the sake of it. I like that I attract good friends that add so much to my life. I like the fact that I can get along with almost anyone, in any situation. I like that I'm outgoing and not afraid of most social situations. I like that I ask for what I want, more often than not, and am not afraid to do that either. I guess I'm not really all that terrible after all! I think I'd be a great mum too.

There, so it seems there are a lot more things that I like about myself than things I hate, at least physically. So it shouldn't be too hard to learn to love myself. So why is it? I guess it's just learning to tune out the societal forces telling me that things about me are ugly. Because really, who's got the real definition of beauty? It's different for everyone, and since that's true, there can't be ONE authority on the subject. So if I can learn to see things about me as beautiful, a) so can other people, and b) I won't NEED other people to see it, because I'll KNOW it's true, at least from my point of view. Get what I mean?

Hey...I'm working on it. I have a GREAT bellybutton!

old bitching - random - new bitching

Reads Like:
The Quest for Peace, Love and a 24" waist.
Sounds Like:
nada
Feels Like:
too much sashimi

0 fussbugets said...



Site Meter