Jul. 13, 2003 - 8:42 p.m.
Requiem For a Dream

I suppose I should write this while it's fresh.

Requiem for a Dream.

I haven't had a film affect me so much in a long time. I was choking crying towards the end.

Here's the technical part. The acting is KILLER. I am so impressed. It humbles me. Makes me think, can I really do this? Some very cool shots, very artfully done. A lot of personal cam shots. Where the actor seems to be wearing the camera, which gives them a very still look, but everyone else and everything else around them is frenetic and wiggly.

Here's the emotional part.

Don't read this if you haven't seen it. I'm going to spoil.

I have never seen a film that ends in such a manner where nobody wins. Nobody. Everyone just gets worse and worse and worse until they all hit the very fucking bottom and then it gets worse. And then the film ends.

My heart broke. I felt it. I felt that woman's desperation and the point of no return. I felt his heart break and I felt sick. I felt him miss his mother, and as a little child remember curling up with her. I felt so much and then felt nothing, just empty and broken and used up and finished.

That film is fucking amazing. It caused a friend of mine to have a panic attack. I cried and cried. I choked. I only wish I could make anything so amazing in my career.

Rent it please.

old bitching - random - new bitching

Reads Like:

Sounds Like:

Feels Like:


3 fussbugets said...



Site Meter