Jan. 13, 2004 - 2:02 p.m.
Retaining Compassion

Question:

How does one get over someone, and still maintain their compassion for them? I'm still in a place where I love him, so when he's hurting or feels bad or is having a bad day, I still feel for him. It hurts me to know that he's not well or happy.

How do I get over him without having to hate him? How do I get to a place where I am no longer IN love with him, but love him just the same, enough to care about him when he hurts, without hurting me in the process?

I tend to harbour resentment for people who have hurt me, and made me feel low or small. I can't just get over them and be ok with things, I have to make them suffer, or want to make them suffer, which would only make me suffer anyway.

How do I not do this? I want to be in a place where I have fond memories of him, and the painful things that have happened are just scars that have healed and that I've learned a lesson from, instead of gaping wounds that bleed everytime my heart beats.

It must be possible.

old bitching - random - new bitching

Reads Like:

Sounds Like:

Feels Like:


1 fussbugets said...



Site Meter