Oct. 24, 2002 - 9:54 a.m.
The Ring and a Little Sunshine

wheee. Saw The Ring last night. It wasn't half as bad as I expected. I expected utter shit and was pre-jaded by my friends since it's a remake of a Japanese film, but on the whole, it was actually quite effective.

Anything involving freaky children seems to freak me out, ala the Exorcist and the story, "Children of the Corn", the written version anyway. The film had some good scary moments, using techniques which are time tested and true and worked just fine! It started out a little cheesy with two schoolgirls, still half in uniform on a friday night (I went to private school and was OUTTA that uniform the second I got off the bus) telling tv myths to each other, then the urban legend surfaces..blegh. But it gets better once the legend becomes a reality. PHEW!

Anyway, see it for fun, don't expect Oscar *AMPAS material. Next see it for fun movie: Ghost Ship.

Also on the list: Igby Goes Down, Fix (about Vancouver's Lower East Side, which is the heroin capital of North America).

Hey Noa:


You Are My Sunshine

Exploding Dog

old bitching - random - new bitching

Reads Like:

Sounds Like:

Feels Like:


0 fussbugets said...



Site Meter