Oct. 10, 2003 - 1:29 p.m.
Song to the Siren

I'm sure I have this in my diary somewhere, but I can't find it so I'm putting it in again because this song is one of the most beautiful songs I've ever heard. It makes me cry and shiver and feel all the emotion in this woman's raw voice. It's the singer from Cocteau Twins and of course, you can't quite make out what she's saying so here are the lyrics. Stunning.

Long afloat on shipless oceans
I did all my best to smile
til your singing eyes and fingers
drew me loving to your isle

And you sang "Sail to me, sail to me;
Let me enfold you."
Here I am, here I am waiting to hold you.

Did I dream you dreamed about me?
Were you here when I was full sail?
Now my foolish boat is leaning,
broken lovelorn on your rocks.
For you sing, "Touch me not,
touch me not, come back tomorrow."
Oh my heart, oh my heart shies from the sorrow.

I'm as puzzled as a newborn child.
I am troubled at the tide.
Should I stand amid the breakers?
Or should I lie with death my bride?

Hear me sing:
"Swim to me, swim to me,
let me enfold you."

"Here I am.
Here I am, waiting to hold you."

This Mortal Coil

old bitching - random - new bitching

Reads Like:

Sounds Like:

Feels Like:


0 fussbugets said...



Site Meter