Sept. 20, 2002 - 1:03 p.m.
Stone Deaf and the Friday Five

Hmmm, the title of today's entry would be a great name for a band!

My cold has leaked into my ears and now I am stone deaf. I can barely hear myself. It's Friday, which means time for the FIVE!! I think I missed the five last week, didn't I? I've been a bit distraught, as you know. The five will be at the bottom of today's entry, FYI.

It's frightening how easy it is to slip into defeatist mindsets. Thinking "why do I bother, I may as well just get fat and die of a heart attack, all this worrying about weight SUCKS. I'll never weigh 102 pounds, no matter how much I starve" that sort of thing. My lean body mass all by itself without the fat etc is nearly 125lbs. That's how much I would weigh if I had 0% body fat, that's NO fat whatsoever on my body. Then I remember how good I feel after a run, and how good I feel after a week of being consistent with my running and things. Instead of measuring the poundage, it's more important to measure your clothes. I would like to strive for the least amount of fat possible on my body without getting all hard and gnarly. I think I would rather be soft than gnarly.

That is a great word, gnarly. GNARLYYYYY!! Fast times at Ridgemont High anyone?

OK the Friday Five is ON!

1. Would you say that you're good at keeping in touch with people?
not particularly. I was really bad when there was no internet and email. I couldn't write letters consistently to save the world. I used to write the letters and then never mail them, then when I resolved to mail them, the info was so out of date it wasn't worth it. It's not that I didn't think about people, I do, all the time. I am just lazy and forgetful and I procrastinate far too much. It's better now that we have email. I've kept in touch with a few people I've met while traveling and I am always good about returning emails.

2. Which communication method do you usually prefer/use: e-mail, telephone, snail mail, blog comments, or meeting in person? Why?
I love them all except snail mail, as I said, never can seem to mail things. I email a lot because it's easy to leave a long message for someone whether or not they're there, as leaving a long assed message on the answering machine is rather annoying. Blog comments are great, I love them, but they usually refer to the content of that days entry, not so general. Telephone is great, I love to hear people's voices, but best of all, and most of all, in person is tops. I am a social person, I love to spend time with people, I am gregarious by nature. Physical energy is the best energy and I can't get enough!

3. Do you have an instant messenger program? How many? Why/why not? How often do you use it?
I am signed up to a few, MSN Messenger, AIM, ICQ, because various people I know are on different systems so in order to talk to any or all of them, I had to sign up. I've decided MSN is my fav, I can't stand AIM. ICQ has too many ads and things. I leave them on all the time too, which is annoying for other people because they're never sure if I'm there or not. Hmm, mysterious.

4. Do most of your close friends live nearby or far away?
My three closest girlfriends all live in the same city. Most of my guy friends seemed to disappear when I became attached, no longer single. HMMM, not because I didn't try to keep in touch though. I have some good friends in Ontario, one guy I miss SOOOO much, we really hit it off in Brighton and I keep in touch with him as best I can. I have some friends in the UK, a few in the US, but mostly everyone is here in the city.

5. Are you an "out of sight, out of mind" person, or do you believe that "distance makes the heart grow fonder"?
I think it can work both ways depending on the person specified. Some people who I could probably do without would be out of mind while out of sight. Chris is out of sight, and actually, to be honest, he is becoming more and more out of mind, which is a relief, but I'm not sure it's all that healthy or deeply true. I've just been avoiding thinking about him and when I don't see or have contact with him, I am at relief to not think about him. But it wasn't like that while I was in Scotland. I thought about him every day. Fascinating!

old bitching - random - new bitching

Reads Like:

Sounds Like:

Feels Like:


0 fussbugets said...



Site Meter