Mar. 17, 2003 - 9:52 a.m.
A Surprise Rant

I'll scrawl. As a woman with more curve than is usually allowed in this society, I'm sure I have lots of opinions on this subject, and I have bitched on many an occasion, but I do agree that by bitching more and more about it (which I do) we are just giving more power to the animal in the first place.

I think that too much attention on the body and physical appearance is an unhealthy, unproductive thing, whether it be good attention or bad attention (ie, we have to be hot!! or being hot is unrealistic!! blah blah), but I think if we placed more value on mind and spirit, we would do the same thing anyway (ie we have to be BRILLIANT!! or being brilliant is unrealistic). I'm sure that 99% of the population's IQ is not particularly spectacular, just like 99% of the population is not like Cameron Diaz.

Women do perpetuate it. If one day, all women refused to get boob jobs, starve, do their hair and nails, shave, all that shit that we do to make ourselves 'pretty', men would eventually evolve out of that. They really just want pussy (or dick, but I'm talking about straight guys here).

But there will always be one woman who sees all the hairy, uncombed, fleshy, natural breasted women and she'll say "I bet if I washed my hair, all the men would like me more..." and it would all start again, as competition between the women for men's affections. We don't have to do all those things cause men want it, we have to do them because OTHER women do them. We are conditioned into wanting the "best" of everything, and men are conditioned into believing that the "best" is Gwyneth Paltrow or Pamela Anderson. So that's what they want.

It's human nature to be competetive. It's ANIMAL nature to be competetive, it's what we compete with that changes. Animal kingdom - peacocks, it's all about that ridiculous tail (which I believe the joke goes, yeah you've got this big beautiful tail, but you're showing your ass to the rest of the world hee hee) and the bigger, brighter and I dunno, peacockier it is, the more chicks he gets.

Dogs, I suppose it's who's ass smells the best?

It's all about competition, and we can argue that we're sentient, civilized creatures with enough intelligence to know better than to behave like that, but we aren't, really. We're still stinking, spraying, sniffing, grunting animals and, luckily, we have corporations and advertising machines to exploit it.

WHOEEEE a rant that began as a comment in JonasParker's diary.

old bitching - random - new bitching

Reads Like:

Sounds Like:
More Sarah McLachlan - it's the album...Mirrorball
Feels Like:
God it's only 10am??? AUGH

2 fussbugets said...



Site Meter