Jan. 19, 2004 - 11:44 a.m.
Tipping

I have something to say about tipping servers. Sure tipping is a nice thing to do, and sure, serving is a shitty job and people can be assholes. But if you hate serving, don't do it.

You, as a server, do not deserve a huge tip for being nice. It's your job to be nice. It's your job to bring food to a table and take someone's order etc. The restaurant, when they hire you, says, "you're job is this: take their order, bring them their food, make sure they have drinks, be nice so they come back". So it's not like you are going above and beyond when you do this thing. There's no "this isn't what I was hired to do!".

So why do you deserve a tip when this is all you do? If you go above and beyond, and bust your ass and do something extra special, or if your table is a pain in the ass and wants a lot of stuff, and if you are all over that stuff they want and bring it promptly and such, then yes, you deserve something extra for your extra hard work. If we are a table of 15, it's extra hard work, yes you deserve a gratuity. But if you take my order for a plate of eggs and a coffee, and bring me a plate of eggs and a coffee, and you keep my coffee refilled, (I'll still tip you) that's your FUCKING JOB THAT YOU WERE HIRED TO DO.

I understand it's a shitty job, but if it's that shitty, find something else.

I don't get a tip for being extra nice to people at my theatre window. I get as much shit as anyone in a customer service position. I don't EXPECT a tip, because I was hired to be nice to the patrons, sell them tickets, and help them with their issues. I get 10 bucks an hour. That's only $1 - $2 more or equal to what servers make. It's not that much more. And I handle all complaints, whereas servers can pass things to managers. So I do more work. I process up to 650 people in less than an hour, and I do it all with a smile, with attention to each customer and I make sure they leave happy BECAUSE THAT'S WHAT I'M PAID FOR. And I may be inches away from RIPPING off that old lady's head too, but I'll still fucking smile.

BUM'S can make $100 in a day if enough people give them change. That's a crappy job too, nobody wants that job. They make more than me, if that's the case, because it's tax free. Doesn't mean I'm going to do it, and then expect people on the street to give me change. You can't expect a tip. You can do a kickass job, above what you're paid for, and THEN you can gripe about not getting a tip.

Fucking hell.

old bitching - random - new bitching

Reads Like:

Sounds Like:

Feels Like:


2 fussbugets said...



Site Meter