Sept. 04, 2003 - 9:31 a.m.
Again? I'm moving to the country, man...

Right so the pathology from my surgery came back and apparently there's still some tissue left. Not pregnant anymore, but this tissue could possibly cause a problem. I have to go for (eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeek) blood tests once a week to see if the levels are coming down, and worst case scenario I will have to have another DnC. Great....

I was thinking this morning again on the subject of city life noise.

I think I want to move to the Cariboo. I think i want to sell my condo or rent it out and live at Canim Lake.

I was standing on the bus this morning. Yes, standing because it was so packed that we were three people deep standing in the aisles. And I was listening to the obnoxious ESL student next to me with his walkman on MAWING his gum making all kinds of sicko smacking wet mouth wide open chewing chomping sucking slurping noises. I hated him so much.

I was listening to the roar of the engine on the bus, the absolute deafening roar. I was listening to the other cars roaring. A honk or two. The construction heavy artillery. The bus driver yelling at us to move behind the red line or people would have to get off.

I think humans would have much better hearing if we never lived a day in the city. If we lived in the quiet woods our entire lives, I bet our hearing ability would be dramatically increased. And so on and so on with our children. I wonder if poorish hearing has been bred into us simply because we cannot handle all the noise we create.

All this racket going on and I imagined sitting on the dock at Canim lake with my book. The only noise was the shitty dock, and the water. Yeah, then a speed boat, sure. But one speed boat, not 200 cars each with one person in them.

Then I thought about lying in the tent and hearing all the night sounds. They didn't wake me. Jackrabbit had his ear plugs because camping is noisy. But I didn't mind at all. No problems. The cows mooing in the distance were hilarious. One of them was having a fit. The ducks were funny too. Quaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaack wuack ack ack ack. Sounded like he was saying "Blahhhh blah blah blah blahh"

I've always been enticed by the idea of farm life. Of doing crazy hard work, but you don't mind because it's for you and your family. All the vegetable growing you do is for you and your family. All the cleaning, washing, cooking, cowmilking, sewing, hoeing, ploughing weeding and all that shit. It's for you and your family.

Not for some rich guy who's getting richer because you bust your ass 40 hours a week plus so that you can take home a paycheque. I love the idea of making jam and selling it. Of canning peaches and earning a living enough to keep your home. I'm sure there are a million downsides to country life, but right now, I can't think of them because I'm glorifying it and I wanna!

I could do it for a couple of years. I could. If I had a family, I would do it. Not alone, that would be TOO quiet and lonely. Maybe in 10 years? Sigh. Who knows. Maybe I'll make a shitload of money on a couple of films or something and then buy a place on the lake in 100 mile, grow a veggie garden, have a cow or two, my kids, my partner, my dogs and cats. I draw the line at wearing gingham though. No gingham.

I could do that. I want to. Getting dragged in a rat race is not what I planned for myself.

old bitching - random - new bitching

Reads Like:
Consider Phlebas - yes, JR, I finally started it. (Iain Banks)
Sounds Like:
nada
Feels Like:
Shortbread - tsk

1 fussbugets said...



Site Meter