Apr. 19, 2004 - 10:22 a.m.
The Tortoise and the Hare

I did the fittest, most physical thing I think I've ever done. I ran the entire 10k yesterday without stopping. I ran for an hour and 10 minutes straight. I know that it's not that fast, I know that it's not that big a deal for a lot of people. Tromley, for example, who ran with me didn't even break a sweat.

But for a girl who couldn't run for two minutes before. A girl who has spent her life saying, "I can't do that, I'm too fat" or "I'm just not a runner", yesterday morning, I was a runner.

I'm still not a runner. I'm not built like one. I'm short, solid, bulky and muscular. I'm not lean and light. I'm built for short bursts of speed and brute strength.

It was my singluar and personal best. Next year's goal: run it in an hour or less.

Tromley was my greatest strength yesterday. Yes, my own was important. But without him there running with me I couldn't have done it. I would have stopped. I would have walked. I was in pain at times, a cramp in my abdomen, groin muscle aching, but I ran through it and breathed through it because he was there urging me on, telling me I could do it and taking my mind off the discomfort.

He could have run the thing in just under 40 minutes if he wanted to. He's long and lean, built like a hare. But he ran it for me, and he ran the whole thing with me, keeping me on pace and keeping my chin up, so to speak, even when I thought I was going to puke.

Thank you, my little hare, I love you.

old bitching - random - new bitching

Reads Like:

Sounds Like:
modest mouse - heart cooks brain
Feels Like:
sore sore sore ouch ouch ouch walking? what's that.

0 fussbugets said...



Site Meter