Aug. 08, 2004 - 5:35 p.m.
weddaaang. two down, two to go!

Wow.

Yesterday was long but great. I was up at 6:30 am to get picked up by Sarah, the maid of honour, and taken to the hair salon to get stylee styled. So we did that. Then it was up to Connie's for sushi and getting dressed, then we hopped into a limo bus, which was very cool, and drove down to the church.

It was a pretty quick ceremony and I was totally freaked out walking down the aisle, as I was the first bridesmaid they saw. I think I had a huge stupid grin on my face. But then I was rescued by Andrew, my token groomsman and the brother of the groom. He had to meet me at the top of the aisle to take me to the alter before we turned to where we were supposed to be. Phew.

It was hot in there, and I was drpping sweat down the inside of my bare arms. It was utterly humiliating, I was sure everyone in the place saw me a-sweatin. They also made us kneel at one point and that was weird because our dresses were so long we couldn't get up again without stepping on them. It wasn't my most graceful moment.

After the ceremony, which was standard short-version, non-latin catholic, and which was performed by a charisma-free man who was very short with us and rather unpleasant, in my opinion, we went for photographs. It was pretty fun.

I must interject here for a moment and say that I did not take nearly as many photos as I would have liked because my camera was trapped in my bag all day. Plus, being in the wedding party, you can't really be up at the front of the church taking photos of the bride and groom while you're standing there holding your own bouquet. Tacky tacky tacky.

Enough said.

The photo shoot was fun. We hit the beach, this really cool bridge over the train tracks, some walking shots a la kill bill, and at one point we even were so bold as to pull over a passing fire truck and force all the firemen to get out and get their photos taken with us.

Ladies, we all know the old myth that firemen are all hot hot hot. I would just like to say, for the record, that not only are all firemen completely and utterly hot - that the myth is true, but that the ones that work in West Vancouver in particular are beyond reason, they are so unbelievably hot. Move there, right now, if you like hot firemen. Then burn your house down regularly.

So that was fun. Then we headed up to the club where the reception was held. They took some photos of the guys on hockey skates looking cool and manly and poor Karin hanging out on the ice looking white, but pretty.

I did manage, after getting fairly drunk, to get my hands on my camera. Lucky you!



Karin is exceptionally tall and fit, and looks fantastic in anything that showcases her stunning shapely shoulders. So the strapless deal was brilliant. She looked amazing. The guys looked pretty snazzy in their wastecoats too, I might add. Even when playing air guitar.



My dress was definitely much better than I thought, though it was a little too small. One of the seams began to pull, and the strap that was altered for me became unstitched, oh and a button fell off too, but on the whole, for a dress that you wear for 12 hours, once, it held up pretty well. Though I did manage to get soy sauce on it before the wedding even started. It was on the floor, and my train went through it. YESSS!!!

I must say I was quite happy with my hair. I went for a bit of a retro look this time, with it all pulled into a low bundle of curls, hence the rags from Friday night.





The groomsmen were the most fun of all. They were basically trashed and goofing around and completely hilarious. My kinda guys. And of course, my favourite was my own buddy-system groomsman, Andrew.

He was a blast and I managed to develop a wee crush, the big flirt. He's a charming, energetic fellow and I hope we keep in touch. Maybe I'll see him at Phil and Randi's wedding.

All in all, a brilliant day, lots of fun, great people, great family, and great memories.

Ta ta!

old bitching - random - new bitching

Reads Like:

Sounds Like:

Feels Like:


2 fussbugets said...



Site Meter