Mar. 20, 2003 - 3:06 p.m.
Where's the Link? Is there one?

Hey hey, I'm about to propose something that may create me some enemies...

But here goes.

I was having a discussion with my boss this morning about the war. I pondered aloud why so many Americans think this war has anything to do with September 11th, or is directly to do with September 11th. Because in my opinion, it doesn't. At all.

Here's what he said:

Saudi Arabia harboured terrorists. But the US needs Saudi Arabia, as they are a major source of oil for America. If the Americans could secure themselves another source of oil, like Iraq, they would no longer rely on Saudi Arabia for the resource. They could then go after them for the purposes of the "war on terrorism". (which I think is a load of horseshit because how many years and years of terrorism has gone on all over the world and only NOW, when the almighty US is attacked, does it really matter?)

So really, yes this war has something very indirectly to do with the "war on terrorism" but this war with Iraq could very likely be ALL ABOUT OIL.

Also, another view brought up to me which I'll pass on is that there are several other powers that hold sway over nations in the middle east. If the US bags Iraq, they will then hold the MOST power in the middle east over the other countries. Perhaps this war is a little less patriotic than one may think.

I do think that if this war is over FAST and not too many people die, the US can do a great deal of good over there...help people build better lives, I hope. Make the quality of life better for the Iraqi people, give them leadership they can trust etc.

But using September 11th as an umbrella for this war is bullshit. I think it's an attempt to justify something that is senseless in the hopes that they don't realize that the leader of their country is a maniac. Sigh...I'm dead meat now. Waitin for the hate mail...

old bitching - random - new bitching

Reads Like:

Sounds Like:
the air conditioning fans. Why? It's not cold in here.
Feels Like:
Everyone has no idea what to think.

0 fussbugets said...



Site Meter