Apr. 26, 2004 - 10:45 a.m.
Y is for Yorick, Who's Head Was Knocked In

I think my bloodstream is entirely comprised of wine today.

Here's why:

Friday night - Helen's birthday. Wine and cheese party. Basically minus the cheese because we ended up eating all of that before anyone got there. They were all late. So 50 gallons of wine and half a bottle of Pimms later, I went to bed. What was it, 3am or something? Bah. Trashed. I was wearing a very expensive BCBG dress, gorgeous, by the way. I mean me, not the dress.

Nothing classier than a trashed woman wearing a designer gown and reading Edward Gorey's Gashleycrumb Tinies aloud in her best pommy British accent.

Saturday I was at work, as you know, playing on my laptop and being paid for it. But after was a lovely barbeque at the home of Nonie and Chris, who make their own wine. After THAT was a trip to Kino Cafe, where they serve North America's best Sangria (I was going to say the world's best sangria but then I thought maybe they make it better in Spain) and we were entertained continuously for three hours by flamenco dancers and this little old guy named Jose who did the yellie singing. He was fantastic. Guess what my latest fetish is?

So, flamenco lesson plans aside, I had another 50 gallons of wine, but no pimms on Saturday.

Sunday was my mother's birthday lunch at the Capilano Golf and Country Club. Very posh. My grandmother plays bridge with all the other rich old ladies. Anyway, she ordered us 50 gallons of wine which I drank, and apparently she drank too because when she stood up to go, she giggled and teetered and said "girls, I'm loaded, someone help me walk".

So I helped my loaded 83 year old Grandmother to walk out to the car where my auntie was waiting to drive her home. She had her head resting on my shoulder and was giggling and saying "I washed my hair this morning, couldn't you tell?" and "how does it feel to have a lush for a mother? are you going to write a book now?" and then laughing her head off.

I love my grandma.

So that was the extent of the gratuitous wine consumption.

Tonight is my last session with Eli the Therapist and then it's off to Cap College for the film program's project screening tonight. My horoscope was right, I am going to be social in the month of April. I think I've been home once in the last three weeks?




N is for Neville, who died of ennui


Gashlycrumb Tinies

old bitching - random - new bitching

Reads Like:
Ahhh edward gorey through pimms coloured lenses
Sounds Like:
no music this morning
Feels Like:
day fly by, pleeease?

0 fussbugets said...



Site Meter