Oct. 09, 2003 - 8:44 a.m.
My Morning Jacket Lalalalalala

Wow. Nobody updates anymore. And I thought I was lazy.

SO the concert was great, but I find I have discovered something rather disturbing.

I'm old.

I don't know if it's just me or concerts are getting louder or what, but it was WAY too fucking loud, to the point of actually being painful. It HURT to listen. I spent the first half of the show with my fingers in my ears trying to dull the pain. I suppose I could have left, but a) I had already spent my hard earned $14 and b) I wanted to hear them live.

Yeah well I heard them alright. Such an odd visual/audio contradiction.

My Morning Jacket has beautiful melodic music, with great drums, crazy guitar and all that shit. I guess it's not that bizarre, but they all came onstage and you couldn't see ANY of their faces because they all had long long rocker wavy hair, which they proceeded to headbang around the stage.

It was hilarious! I couldn't stop laughing, and I know it's rude, but there were several points at which the bassist, lead guitar and other guitar guy would all face the drummer and headbang simultaneously at him. There was more hair on stage than in that whole bar all together.

I think personally, the best part well, two best parts was 1) the middle of the show when they slowed it down and played some dreamy shit with killer vocals, and 2) the encore when it was just the lead singer and his guitar.

This guy has the most amazing voice you've ever heard. Imagine the pitch/range of Neil Young, only TOTALLY ON KEY all the time, perfect pitch, intense body shivering tonal quality.

He's fantastic. So you can imagine that just the fella with his guitar singing is big heart out...PHWOOOOO. I was all a smit.

I also purchased an MMJ T-shirt at an exorbitant rate sporting a bear's head, two skeleton's roasting weenies and a Kentucky parks board logo. It's green.

Two more days of work, including today!! Then it's off to T.

I have so much to do this week too. Finish cleaning up my house so Helen, my new roommate can move her shit in, go see TWO count em TWO plays, "Espresso" and "Cyrano de Bergerac" (in which my friend Mia stars), get a fucking brazilian wax(ow ow ow), go to my mothers for thanksgiving dinner, PACK, host a big damn dinner, get a run in somewhere, go to my bank to sign some papers for my line of credit, eat right...AUGH.

I spent too much money yesterday. Again. Shoot.

old bitching - random - new bitching

Reads Like:

Sounds Like:

Feels Like:


2 fussbugets said...



Site Meter