Jul. 09, 2003 - 9:01 a.m.
One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest

THis is my second entry for today, and it's just a movie review, so go back one and read the real shite...after you read this if you want...

I finally watched One Flew Over the Cuckoo's nest. I can see why it did so well, won all those Oscars and everything. It's a well done film. But it doesn't hold a candle to the book.

I know I know, that's to be expected, no film is as good as the book, but in this case, the book was so overwhelmingly better that the film lost all it's real charm for me. I found the story changed too much, I found the perspective lacking, I found Jack to be Jack, not the powerful creature that McMurphy really was.

Despite the shortcomings in comparison with the literary version, there were some endearing aspects anyway. Danny DeVito is in this film looking VERY YOUNG and very cute, as Mr. Martini, a delusional who sees people that aren't really there. Sidney Lassick, the fella that played Mr. Cheswick was extremely convincing. Brad Dourif, the actor that playes Grima in LOTR and Piter in the original Dune (ps, this actor gets ALL the cool creepy guy evil weird off beat roles. Lucky man. Works a lot) is a stuttering Billy Christopher Lloyd was also in it looking rather young and insane. Louise Fletcher was cold and calculating, a decent nod to the character in the book, as Nurse Ratched and Jack Nicholson, was, well, Jack.

Will Sampson as the chief was good, but it's hard to do that role wrong, you have to just be 7 feet tall, Native and quiet. But the actor was quite beautiful nonetheless. I found myself remarking internally on how the features of his face were all curved and in a very attractive manner. There was nothing sharp or angry about his face.

A side note, Scatman Crothers plays Turkle the night orderly in this movie, and he also played Dick Halloran in The Shining along side Jack Nicholson. He had been acting since the 1930's and he passed away at 76 in 1986. Quite the career.

Anyway, see the movie, but if you see the movie, PLEASE PLEASE read the book. Or just read the book and skip the movie.

"Someone get me a fucking weiner before I die" - McMurphy, while watching an imaginary baseball game

old bitching - random - new bitching

Reads Like:

Sounds Like:

Feels Like:


1 fussbugets said...



Site Meter