Aug. 05, 2003 - 10:36 a.m.
Anything Goes

"Hey now, it's the sun, and it makes me shine, all around, all around. badadadadaaaaa"

Polyphonic Spree

So I guess I'll talk about my weekend. It was kinda a nice weekend, despite the emotional sadness and things.

Friday night. I bought my bicycle. I was supposed to ride home with jackrabbit but you know that story.

So since my brother is a mega downhill mountain biker and he spends a lot of time at this bike shop, we went down there because he knows the owner. There was a used bike there that I had seen on Tuesday for $400.00, which I felt was a little high. So my brother didn't show up at 5:30 on friday like we had agreed, so I just started the purchase on my own. I approached the owner and said, hey, I was here on Tuesday looking at bikes, I'm Danny Brody's sister. Dave, the owner, was like "heeeeyyyyy!!! coool, yeah I heard you were coming in" So to make a long story short, he gave me the 'Danny's big sister special'. I ended up getting the $400 bike for $250, new brake pads for nothing (they're about $10), a 50.00 helmet for 40.00, a $40 seat for $30, a $40 lock for $35, and NO TAX, no GST or PST on any of it! SWEEEET. So something that would have cost $600.00 ended up costing me $355.00. Then he aligned the wheels, cleaned and oiled everything, adjusted the breaks and gave the whole thing a big tune up. So I'm stoked as all that!

My brother actually showed up part way through this too, which was cool and we had a grand old time at the bike shop. Whee.

Something creepy. My 16 year old brother is setting me up with one of his mountain biker friends. J, who is 30 and lives in Nanaimo. My brother thought we were perfect for each other so he was telling J all about me, and we've now been MSN'ing all weekend. He seems pretty nice, kinda a jock, which isn't my type, so to speak, but we'll see. He seems like a pretty down to earth guy.

I've been dating nerds and smart guys so long, that I forget what it's like to date a testosterone driven guy. Sex is better, they're much more physical, a little less logical about emotions. I think I can get used to that. We'll see. He's going to come out next weekend so I think I'd like to hang out with him and see.

Saturday I rode my bike to work, I'm in wicked shape, at least better shape than I thought. Then after work, went home and passed out. I was supposed to go to two parties but couldn't make it to either I was so tired. I just crashed.

Sunday I rode my bike again to Anna's then we all went to the Pride parade together. That's when I listened to the Annie Lennox song and cried in a car full of gay men. Who can cry in a car full of gay men? Me.

Then after, Anna and I hit the Powell Street Festival, which is a Japanese festival. So much fun. They had sumo wrestling and bbq'd salmon and squid balls and gyoza and a lottery to win a trip to japan or $1000.00, yes a thousand dollars worth of Hello Kitty stuff. OF COURSE I entered!!!

I got a fabulous sunburn. Well done. In many ways.

Then Monday, which was a holiday, BC Day, I spent the ENTIRE day reading. HAHA. Then went to dinner with my mum and gramma, where she expressed displeasure in the fact that I went to a gay parade. Ahh, religion.

My gramma didn't mind all that much. My mum preached to my brother about it later, and he stood up for me. Sweetie. I love that kid. I don't think my mother knows that she's driving a wedge between herself and her son by forcing her intolerant religious banter on him. It makes him see what he doesn't want to be like. He's tolerant and accepting of all people, like me, though he may joke otherwise sometimes, being a jock and all. I think he's pretty laid back about everything, sorta live and let live. He may not be comfortable with the idea of homosexuality, but he certainly has no problem letting other people live their lives how they want to.

Good for him!

So yeah. Then after dinner I dropped by Tim and Pato's to pick up some tickets for Dave Matthews from Ryan, and it turned out that Trevor, Jeff, Ryan, T n P were having a wee dinner party, so I hung out and we chatted all hours of the evening. I had a really good time.. It was good to see all of them again. =). I like that crowd. There's nothing pretentious about any of them. I can be myself and never worry about what they're thinking of me or whatever.

old bitching - random - new bitching

Reads Like:

Sounds Like:
Ella Fitzgerald - Anything Goes
Feels Like:
coffee is making me happy.

0 fussbugets said...



Site Meter