Jun. 23, 2003 - 1:45 p.m.
Harold and Maude

Right, I promised reviews on my movie page.

Harold and Maude:

This film has a solely Cat Stevens soundtrack which actually suits the film quite well. I forget what year it was made but if you click the link on the movies list page, all the info is there, including a synopses and some other reviews.

I loved this film. His acting was pretty good for a newcomer, he was believable, relaxed, didn't seem to timid about going all out. She's been doing it for a while, but you can sense her stage experience in this film.

I found them both endearing and hilarious and well written. I really wanted things to work out for them. There was some great lines in the trailer that weren't in the film like one where they're at a carnival and he asks the crowd "Has anyone seen my old lady?". Killed me.

There were a lot of creative details and stylish directing choices and set dec. He gets a jag from his mother and he modifies it into something quite unique, which gets destroyed VERY obviously later in the film. YOu know that they only had one of those cars, and that means they had one chance to get that scene right.

Her habitation is brilliant and suggestive and her art is just the same in the film. Take CAREFUL note of the piece she created for the love of texture...

There's some good advice in this film, some hope despite differences, and some sadness. But all in all, it's a funny, beautiful, sweet, bright, intelligent film and it's now on my favourites list.

old bitching - random - new bitching

Reads Like:

Sounds Like:

Feels Like:


0 fussbugets said...



Site Meter