Sept. 09, 2003 - 4:06 p.m.
TV Land and my Ego

So who knows if this 48hours TV show thing is going to work out, but I got a call from them again saying they were very excited to talk to me.

That's nice news! Either they say that to everyone to keep them interested in being interviewed, or she actually liked what I had to say, and figured I'd be good TV. Either way, it's good on the ego.

It's amazing how many hits I get on Sebastian and Atif. That page rocketed through the most visited pages list in my stats. As did ALL the entries on pregnancy. It's true, drama brings readers. I can see how the media works. I can see how they can go from bringing just everyday truths to people to sensationalizing the fuck out of everything to gain viewers/readers. Because it fucking works. We complain that we get sensationalized news and overblown media, but we eat that shit up. Who wants to watch boring news? Anyway, it's good for the ego to see your stats go up too, besides being wanted for a news magazine TV show.

So a modification on the ego thing is in order, just as a side note. I don't have a big ego, I have a very sensitive, easily bruised ego, which is no better than having a big ego. I need to learn to get a tougher skin, not take things to heart, let things roll off me. Just to interpret things differently. I think i can make headway on this stuff.

On getting a therapist...it's sort of a strange process. There are days when I think "jeeeez I need some fucking help, what a mess I am" and there are days when I think, "I can cope. What would I have to talk about with the therapist anyway".

I suppose it can't do any real DAMAGE getting a therapist, but there is cost involved and not a whole lot of it is covered by medical.

Blah. I need a new skin regime.

old bitching - random - new bitching

Reads Like:
Consider Phlebus
Sounds Like:
Polyphonic Spree - Section 1 (Holiday, Celebrate)
Feels Like:
bumpy skin

0 fussbugets said...



Site Meter